NRM wins Iganga woman MP election

NRM wins Iganga woman MP election
Eazzy Banking

It is another routine win for the ruling National Resistence Movement (NRM) party as Brenda Asinde swept the Iganga District woman parliamentary by- election on Thursday.

NRM’s Asinde garnered 4197 votes to beat her closet rival, FDC’s Mariam Nantale Naigaga who got 2477 votes from 383 polling stations.  Asha Babirye, Olivia Kwagala and Aziza Kakerewe ran as independents in the highly contested by election.

Ms. Asinde promised to address the high unemployment rates in her constituency

“I will tackle the issues affecting people, especially water by making sure that every village has clean water to prevent diseases like cholera and unemployment among the youth and women by skilling them so that they can be independent,’’ she said.

The seat fell vacant after the death of the then Iganga woman MP Kaudha Grace Hailat in July this year.


You must be logged in to post a comment Login