Monster car up for grabs in tonight’s Uganda Premier League Awards

Monster car up for grabs in tonight’s Uganda Premier League Awards
Eazzy Banking

The Federation of Uganda Football Associations (FUFA) Azam Uganda Premier League’s top performing individuals for the 2016/2017 season are set to be rewarded at the annual Awards night at Imperial Royale Hotel in Kampala.

With numerous awards to be handed out on the night, the award that will again be the most highly-anticipated is the Premiership Footballer-of the-Season, which is a three-horse race between three strikers – Geoffrey Sserunkuma of reigning champions KCCA FC, Emmanuel Okwi who last month left SC Villa and Muhammad Shaban of Onduparaka.

The topscorers of their respective clubs and their leadership qualities have been outstanding as they all guided their teams to silverware this season and the MVP tonight will drive away in a Subaru Forester, model 2005.

Sserunkuma, who lifted the Premier League and Uganda Cup title with the Kasasiro Boys, says getting a nomination is recognition enough and he will be looking to improve next season at his new club in Zambia.

“It does not really matter who wins it, the most important thing is to try to build on what one has achieved this year, getting the nomination is already an achievement,” said Sserunkuma.

Meanwhile, Onduparaka striker Shaban believes the award could go either way.

“I really believe all three of us have represented our respective teams very well that is why we have been nominated for this award,” he said.

MVP: 34-year-old Sserunkuma (R)vies for the accolade with Onduparaka’s Mohammad Shaban (L)and former SC Villa player Emmanuel Okwi

MVP of the season: Geoffrey Sserunkuma (KCCA FC) Emmanuel Okwi (SC Villa) and Muhammad Shaban (Onduparaka)

Goalkeeper of the season: Isma Watenga (Vipers) Benjamin Ochan (KCCA FC) and Thomas Ikara (Kirinya Jinja SS)

Defender of the season: Halid Lwaliwa (Vipers), Habib Kavuma (KCCA FC) and Timothy Awany (KCCA FC)

Midfielder of the season: Saddam Juma (Express FC) Mutyaba Muzamir (KCCA FC) and Shafik Kagimu (URA FC)

Top Scorer: Geoffrey Sserunkuma (KCCA FC, 21goals)

Young Player of the year: Allan Okello (KCCA FC), Frank Tumwesigye (Vipers) and Thomas Ikara (Kirinya Jinja SS).

Fan’s player of the year (Voted by fans)

Fair play club of the season (As per statistics)

Fair play individual of the season (To be selected by committee)

UPL best XI (To be selected by committee)

Coach of the year: Mike Mutebi (KCCA FC), Abbey Bogere Kikomeko (Kirinya Jinja SS) and Wasswa Bbosa (SC Villa)

Best Goalkeeping coach: Kiggundu Stephen Billy (Vipers) Daniel Kiwanuka (KCCA FC) and Sam Kawalya (Express FC)

Referee of the year (To be selected by referee’s committee)

Club CEO of the season: Tamale David (KCCA FC) Lwanga Peter (Vipers) and William Bakkabulindi (Proline)

Media Personality (To be selected by awards committee) – TV, Radio, Print, Photography, Online

Fan(s) of the year (To be selected by committee)

Life Time Achiever Award (To be selected by committee)


You must be logged in to post a comment Login