Dr Stephen Kaziimba Mugalu elected Uganda’s 9th Archbishop

Dr Stephen Kaziimba Mugalu elected Uganda’s 9th Archbishop

The House of Bishops has elected Bishop Samuel Kazimba Mugalu of Mityana Diocese as the ninth Archbishop of the Church of Uganda. Bishop Kazimba is replacing retiring Archbishop Stanley Ntagali.

On March 1, 2020 at St Paul’s Cathedral, Namirembe, he takes over from Most Reverend Stanley Ntagali.

He was born to Besweri Kaddu and Ms Jessica Nanyonjo on August 15, 1962 at Gulama-Najja Kyaggwe.

Dr Kaziimba is the current Bishop of Mityana Diocese, a role he has held for the last 15 years, was born to Besweri Kaddu and Ms Jessica Nanyonjo on August 15, 1962 at Gulama-Najja Kyaggwe.

Eazzy Banking

His calling started in teaching the Sunday school children in November 1979 after his confirmation. He started his ministry while in secondary school. He joined Madudu church choir in 1980 and later on served in this church as a catechist from 1981 to 1983.

He was trained as a Lay-Leader at Baskerville Theological College Ngogwe in 1985 and was posted to Lugazi St. Peter’s Church.

Between 1988 and 1990, Kaziimba trained at Uganda Martyrs’ Seminary, and was ordained in December 1990 by Bishop Livingstone Mpalanyi Nkoyoyo. He served as Assistant Vicar at Nakibizzi Parish from 1990 to 1994.

In 1996, he completed his Diploma in Theology at Bishop Tucker College, and was posted to Katente Parish as Parish priest from 1997 to 2000.

He was then transferred to Mukono Cathedral as Vicar in 2000 and while there was made the Acting Provost of Mukono Cathedral by Bishop Michael Ssenyimba.

In 2004 he was confirmed as the provost of St. Philip and Andrew‘s Cathedral.

Kaziimba became the 4th Bishop of Mityana Diocese on October 26, 2008 replacing Bishop Dr. Dunstan Kopriano Bukenya.

Equity Bank’s Marketing and Communications Manager Phillip Otim and Head of Operations Kenneth Onyango handed over a cheque to the Rt Rev. Stephen Samuel Kazimba (C) in May after the bank made a Shs20 million donation to the organizing committee of the Martyrs Day celebrations.

He is married to Margaret Naggayi Bulya and they are blessed with four boys, Kisakye Moses Mugalu, Muwanguzi Peter Kyeswa, Musasizi Enoch Kaziimba, and Kwagala Joseph Kaziimba.

Previous Archbishops

1st Archbishop Leslie Brown, a British missionary and was the first Archbishop of Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi, and Boga-Zaire (1961-1966)

2nd Archbishop Erica Sabiti (1966 – 1974)

3rd Archbishop Janani Luwum (1974 – 1977). Martyred in 1977.

4th Archbishop Silvanus Wani (1977 – 1983). In 1980, Rwanda, Burundi, and Boga-Zaire became a separate, Francophone Province, and Uganda became its own Province.

5th Archbishop Yona Okoth (1983 – 1995)

6th Archbishop Livingstone Mpalanyi-Nkoyoyo (1995 – 2004)

7th Archbishop Henry Luke Orombi (2004 – 2012)

8th Archbishop Stanley Ntagali (2012-2020)


You must be logged in to post a comment Login